There have been Catholics in the city of West Bend since it was founded in 1845, however the Congregation of Holy Angels can officially trace the start of it’s history to the year 1852.
In the year 1851, West Bend Catholics came together to buy two city lots for $15. By late 1852 the first church building had been erected. They called this church Mary, Mother of Sorrows. However when Fr. Casper Rehrl built a church in Barton with the name St. Mary’s Immaculate Conception the decision was made to change the West Bend Parish’s name to Holy Angels to avoid any confusion.
By 1863 Holy Angels had outgrown the original building so two more lots were purchased, on the corner of 7th and Elm (currently where Trinity Lutheran stands), and in 1866 a new church was built. This new church was able to hold the parish for almost 50 years. But the congregation was again growing so in 1913 plans to build a new church started forming.
Construction began in the summer of 1914 with a cornerstone laying ceremony taking place on August 9, 1914. Construction lasted almost a year and on June 20, 1915 Archbishop Meismer formerly consecrated the new church building.
Holy Angels has stood on the same spot for 100 years. There have been a few remodels of the church in the last 100 years but much of Gothic feel has stayed the same.
Come check us out and see for yourself!
As beautiful as Holy Angels is on the outside, the interior of the church features a narrative of Jesus’ life, death and resurrection through its unique architecture, some of the areas largest and most beautiful stained glass windows, and detailed depictions of Christ’s Passion through the stations of the cross.